Washington – U.S. Senators Fred Thompson (R-TN) and Bill Frist (R-TN) announced today that the U.S. Department of Transportation has begun distribution of nearly $4 million in bus funding for the State of Tennessee.
“I’m pleased that this federal funding has been made available to help local communities make needed improvements to existing infrastructure and expand bus service for thousands of Tennesseans,” Thompson said. “From Shelby County to Johnson County, mass transit systems across the state will be helped by these funds.”
“Tennessee’s communities benefit from mass transit through improvements in traffic congestion, reduced pollution and affordable transportation for those who use buses most,” said Frist. “As Tennessee’s communities continue to grow, it’s critical we support investment in our mass transit infrastructure. This funding will help communities statewide incorporate a smart growth approach as they meet their mass transit needs.”
The Department of Transportation grant is for a Fiscal Year 2001 Bus Earmark in the amount of $3,961,259. The following thirteen localities will receive funds from the grant:

Chattanooga Area Regional Transportation Authority (CARTA) is receiving $195,000 to purchase one 35-foot bus.
The city of Clarksville is receiving $350,000 to construct a fuel & wash facility and a storage facility.
East Tennessee Human Resource Agency is receiving $65,000 for an automatic vehicle washer to service Anderson, Blount, Campbell, Claiborne, Cocke, Grainger, Hamblen, Jefferson, Knox, Loudon, Monroe, Morgan, Roane, Scott, Sevier, and Union Counties.
Johnson City
First Tennessee Human Resource Agency is receiving $49,000 for capital improvements to a maintenance garage and $30,000 for scheduling and reporting software to service Carter, Green, Hawkins, Johnson, Sullivan, Washington, Hancock, and Unicoi Counties.
Hamilton County
Hamilton County is receiving $25,000 for scheduling and reporting software.

Comments are closed.